The Alabama Association of Historians' purpose is to establish and promote closer relations among the historians in the state of Alabama and to stimulate and improve the work of those historians in teaching, research, and service.

The AAH is committed to providing opportunities for historians from universities, K-12 schools, museums, archives, and community colleges, as well as local historians, to share their work. We encourage undergraduate and graduate students to join and present their work as well. 

Through classroom visits, panel discussions with historians, and networking opportunities, the AAH helps educate students about career opportunities in the field of history. 

AAH Board

  • Brian Dempsey, University of North Alabama, President

  • Hannah Garmon, Alabama Historical Commission, President Elect

  • Kayla Scott, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Secretary

  • John Gurner, U.S. Army Center of Military History/Museum Support Center, Anniston Army Depot, Treasurer

  • Blake Wilhelm, Northeast Alabama Community College, Community College Rep.

  • Wesley Garmon, Consultant, Public History Representative

  • Carolyn Barske-Crawford, Muscle Shoals National Heritage Area

AAH Presents Three Awards

  • The John F. Ramsey Award of Merit, given for outstanding contributions to the history profession in Alabama.  

  • The Mae Ellis Moore Flynt Teaching Excellence Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the teaching of history in grades K-12 and is endowed by J. Wayne Flynt in honor of his mother, a longtime fourth grade Alabama History teacher and social studies consultant.

  • The David Warren Bowen Award is presented for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual AAH Conference. The award is sponsored by the Department of History and Social Sciences at the University of West Alabama. The winner will receive a plaque and/or certificate and a small honorarium.

Become A Member Today